The Buttery Blog

Everything's better with butter.

A Belated Birthday Post March 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — butteryblog @ 7:58 pm


My birthday was last month. I turned a number I’m not going to share. This is because I’m in the entertainment business. And vain.

I am at an age where I think it’s a little ridiculous to have big blowouts, but I still believe that the entire month of February is my own personal holiday. So I had a small dinner with my closest girlfriends at my favorite Mexican place in Los Angeles, Gloria’s. Side note about Gloria’s: their food is excellent, the service is fabulous and we eat there so often they know our order and our names. I love it. Check it out if you’re in the area. You might even get served by Gloria herself.

Back to me. I’ve been possessed by the idea of a giant hostess cupcake birthday cake for a while. It just kept popping into my brain and floating there like a beautiful butterfly. A beautiful ganache covered butterfly.

This one was pretty awesome. I found the buttercream a little sweet, so I’d probably go with the marshmallow frosting I’ve seen other places.

Anyway, here you go. Make it for an upcoming birthday. Or Easter. Or Tuesday.

Giant Hostess Cupcake Birthday Cake

The Cake
from Sky High: Irresistible Triple-Layer Cakes

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 1/2 cups sugar
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, preferably Dutch process
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup neutral vegetable oil, such as canola, soybean or vegetable blend
1 cup sour cream
1 1/2 cups water
2 tablespoons distilled white vinegar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Butter the bottoms and sides of three 8-inch round cakepans. Line the bottom of each pan with a round of parchment or waxed paper and butter the paper.

2. Sift the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt into a large bowl. Whisk to combine them well. Add the oil and sour cream and whisk to blend. Gradually beat in the water. Blend in the vinegar and vanilla. Whisk in the eggs and beat until well blended. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and be sure the batter is well mixed. Divide among the 3 prepared cake pans.

3. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes, or until a cake tester or wooden toothpick inserted in the center comes out almost clean. Let cool in the pans for about 20 minutes. Invert onto wire racks, carefully peel off the paper liners, and let cool completely. At this point, I carved out a bit of the center and filled it with the buttercream frosting. I don’t know if I’d do this again because it turned out to be a quite a big blob of frosting. But it’s what I did and I feel I must share that with you. Keep a little of the frosting for the swirly design that goes on top of the cake.

4. When the cake is cool, top with the ganache. Pour it into the center then spread so it’s dripping down the side a bit. Let it solidify in the fridge for a minimum of 1 hour.

5. Put the saved buttercream frosting into a pastry bag or zipper bag and make your swirl across the center of the cake.

6. Shovel it into your face and the face of others in copious amounts.

The Ganache from Martha

I can’t find the ganache recipe I used anymore, but I offer this one. It looks pretty much like what I did.

The Frosting from Wilton
1/2 cup solid vegetable shortening
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or margarine softened
1 teaspoon clear vanilla extract
4 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar (approximately 1 lb.)
2 tablespoons milk

Cream shortening and butter until smooth. Add vanilla. Slowly add your sugar, while beating thoroughly on medium speed. Add milk and continue to beat until light and fluffy.

Be excellent to each other,
Ms. Butterpants

 

One Response to “A Belated Birthday Post”

  1. cakes Says:

    Hi, you have interesting post! I’m definitely going to bookmark you! Thank you for your info.And this is birthday cakes site/blog. It pretty much covers “cakes” related stuff.


Leave a Reply

