The Buttery Blog

Everything's better with butter.

a mini travel blog and pancakes…. January 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — butteryblog @ 8:10 pm

So a couple months ago, I was complaining about much I missed New York and trying to figure out a way to get there for a visit. Lo and behold, JetBlue answered my call. A little email about cheap flights appeared in my inbox. Off I went.

Bethesda Fountain


This isn’t much of a travel blog- I was sort of there to reconnect with friends and enjoy the city, but I’ll hit a few highlights.

Theatre:

Our Town
A beautiful production at the Barrow Street Theatre. I love this play, I’ll never not cry at the line, “Do any human beings ever realize life while they live it?—every, every minute?” But this production made me feel as if I’d seen it for the first time. I heard lines I’d never heard before. The simplicity of the set (almost nothing), costumes (it appeared as though the actors just walked on in their street clothes), and performance created an entirely different experience for me.

In the Next Room or the vibrator play
I bought this ticket immediately after booking my flight. I love Sarah Ruhl and I’ve been a fan of Michael Cerveris since I saw The Who’s Tommy on Broadway at the age of 15. He was so nice to 15 year old me, it made me a fan for life. But he’s not just a nice guy, he’s a fantastic actor. His performance in this play was heartbreaking and beautiful. Quincy Tyler Bernstine and Maria Dizzia were also standouts. Unfortunately, this beautiful play closed the day after I saw it, but if a theatre company does it near you, go.

Food:
My favorite stop was Mother Butter’s house. We sat, had soup, and talked for a long while. It always amazes me how great friends can pick up right where you left off, no matter how long it’s been. Mother Butter and I have been friends, roommates (an experience that should never be repeated), colleagues… she is one of my nearest and dearest. It was so lovely to catch up with her in person. And her soup was excellent, I hope it makes an appearance here.

Katz’s Delicatessen
I always intend to get something other than latkes and blintzes here, but it never happens. Mr. B likes the brisket, extra lean with pickles.

The Stanton Social
One of my favorite brunch places. We used to live around the corner and dropped in most Sundays. This has become a tradition with some friends I met years ago on a trip to Poland and Israel. We usually order one of everything and devour every bit of it.

Clinton Street Baking Company
I don’t know why anyone would order anything but the blueberry pancakes here. I’ve had their biscuits, they were sort of “meh” for me. But those pancakes…… oh man. They’re soft and full of juicy blueberries. And the maple butter syrup thing they serve with it? Heaven on a plate. I recommend a visit on a weekday, if you can. The lines are crazy on a weekend.

Which brings me to today’s recipe…. I don’t normally eat pancakes, but Mr. B loves them and Clinton Street had started me down a terrible path of carbohydrate cravings. I googled for a recipe and came up with this one from Let Her Bake Cake. I used her recipe as inspiration and tossed a few cranberries in as well and added some vanilla, because why not?

Blueberry Buttermilk Pancakes

2 eggs
1 cup buttermilk
5 tbsp butter, melted and cooled a little
1 tbsp. vanilla
1 and 1/3 cups all purpose flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tbsp. sugar
1 and 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 c. blueberries

Mix flour, salt, sugar, baking powder, baking soda in a bowl. Set aside.

Separate the eggs. Yolks in a large bowl, white in a mixing bowl. You’re going to whip the egg whites to soft peaks.

Add the buttermilk, butter, and vanilla in the bowl with the yolks. Beat together. When it’s all mixed, add in the dry ingredients. Whisk together. Some lumps are okay.

Fold in the egg whites to your mixture. When they’re completely incorporated, drop the batter onto a buttered griddle and cook over medium high heat. When the batter starts to bubble, it’s time to flip it. Drop a few blueberries into the batter, then flip. Cook until golden brown. Serve immediately with a topping of your choice.

I loved these- thick, but not dry. Moist and fluffy. A great base for other things- chocolate chips, fruits, whatever you got. I’d probably add a little more vanilla or some sort of flavor to give them a little kick. This recipe is here to stay.

pancaaaaake

Be excellent to each other,
Ms. Butterpants

Happy Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day.
“Human salvation lies in the hands of the creatively maladjusted.” Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Strength to Love, 1963

 

One Response to “a mini travel blog and pancakes….”

  1. saucy smith Says:

    Stop it!! Now I want buttermilk blueberry pancakes. Thank you for reminding me how much I like them. Thanks for your story about your trip. Three cheers for Jet Blue!!

    Hugs
    SAUCY


Leave a Reply

