The Buttery Blog

Everything's better with butter.

Ina Garten’s Lemon Bars October 19, 2009

Filed under: Desserts — butteryblog @ 11:38 pm
Tags:
Pucker Up!

Pucker Up!

Another chapter from the Lemon Cookbook! My friend S and I decided to make Ina Garten‘s lemon bars. I’d made it once a few years ago and it was quite a disaster, but it was my fault. My baking dish was too small so the bars never cooked properly. This time, I put the batter into two dishes. Still, I can’t say I loved these. I loved the taste; it was an excellent balance of tart and sweet. But the texture wasn’t quite right. The recipe calls for flour in the lemon mixture to help the bars set, but I felt like this made the bars gummy. None of the others that ate these made that comment and in fact, they went over really well, but I personally would prefer something a bit creamier. If anyone has a killer lemon bar recipe, hit me with it!

Lemon Bars

Prep Time: 10 minutes / Inactive Prep Time: 30 minutes / Cook Time: 55 minutes
Yield: 20 squares or 40 triangles

 

CRUST:

    1/2 pound unsalted butter, room temp
    1/2 cup sugar
    2 cups flour
    1/8 teaspoon salt

FILLING:

    6 XL eggs, room temp
    3 cups sugar
    2 tablespoons lemon zest (4-6 lemons)
    1 cup lemon juice
    1 cup flour
    Confectioners’ sugar for dusting

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

2. For the crust, cream the butter and sugar until light in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Combine the flour and salt and, with the mixer on low, add to the butter until just mixed. Dump the dough onto a well-floured board and gather into a ball. Flatten the dough with floured hands and press it into a 9 by 13 by 2-inch baking sheet, building up a 1/2-inch edge on all sides. Chill.

3. Bake the crust for 15 to 20 minutes, until very lightly browned. Let cool on a wire rack. Leave the oven on.

4. For the filling, whisk together the eggs, sugar, lemon zest, lemon juice, and flour. Pour over the crust and bake for 30 to 35 minutes, until the filling is set. Let cool to room temperature. Cut into triangles and dust with confectioners’ sugar.

 

GRADE: B
♥Lady Butterbuns

 

5 Responses to “Ina Garten’s Lemon Bars”

  1. butteryblog Says:

    I have two lemon recipes I think you should try. One is called “Lemon Dreams” and the other is called “Lemon Puffs.” I’m not sure what they’re supposed to look like or taste like, but it is my way of helping find the perfect lemon dessert.

    -Buttery B

  2. Mother Butter Says:

    I too have a lemon recipe for you- lemon delight. It is a family thing. I will post it for you ASAP.

  3. Christine Says:

    Ok, I have no lemon recipe. But – last night I made Barefoot Contessa’s Orange Pound Cake mix and it turned out DELISH! I brought it into work today and it was devoured in 2 hours. Perhaps its cheating to use a box mix, but it was killer.

    Highly recommend.

    • butteryblog Says:

      Christine, I love Barefoot Contessa. I’m not embarrassed to admit that I DVR all her episodes. I don’t consider it cheating–Ina just did half the work for you! I’ve never tried her box mixes, and now you’ve got me curious.

      -Buttery B

      • butteryblog Says:

        There is a local meat shop here that sells all of her box mixes. I haven’t bought one yet, but they all look so tasty. I may have to pick one up next time…Betty Crocker with “the volume turned up” as Ina likes to say (I actually hate that she says it).

        -Lady B


Leave a Reply

