The Buttery Blog

Everything's better with butter.

Hat and Gloves. Check. October 18, 2009

Filed under: drinks — butteryblog @ 12:00 pm
Tags:

It is mid-October and I pulled out my hat and gloves yesterday for the first time. It just seemed wrong. I refused to wear a proper coat, in defiance. It is only mid-October, people! NYC has gotten slammed with 30 degree temps the past few days and I am not sure how to react, or what to wear. But, what I do know is what to eat.

As I walked home yesterday, all I had on my mind was Hot Chocolate. No Swiss Miss action. Not even Starbucks. I wanted the real thing, complete with real milk (I usually go for soy) and whipped cream. I stopped off for some Cool Whip–but when I turned to the ingredients (corn syrup and high fructose corn syrup), I decided I could make my own whipped cream. For some reason it seems fancy and complicated. It is fancy, but not complicated.

First, I pulled out the hot chocolate ingredients. Last year I splurged on MarieBelle Hot Chocolate and still had some. So, 1/2 cup of milk, 1/4 cup of hot chocolate. Boil the milk, add the hot chocolate, simmer for 10 seconds. Pretty simple. Next time I might add some cinnamon, or peppermint…when it is actually offiically winter!

MarieBelle Hot Chocolate

MarieBelle Hot Chocolate

Whipped Cream

8 oz heavy cream
1 tbsp sugar (or to taste)
1 tsp vanilla

Beat the cream with an electric mixer (unless you want your arm to fall off) until it is about half-way to looking like whipped cream. Add the sugar and vanilla. Continue beating until it looks like what you want your whipped cream to look like (though, it shouldn’t be beaten to the point that it has peaks–this isn’t a meringue!). Dollop on your hot chocolate and enjoy.

Homemade Whipped Cream

Homemade Whipped Cream

Best enjoyed in a soft robe, or big sweater.

Let the winter games begin!

♦ Buttery B

 

8 Responses to “Hat and Gloves. Check.”

  1. butteryblog Says:

    I love your polka-dotted cup and saucer! I always make my own whip once I realized how insanely easy it was. Buy some peppermint extract and sub it for the vanilla next time.

    -Lady B

  2. Mother Butter Says:

    Looks like some yummy comfort! I had the Swiss Miss this week. Very unsatisfying.

  3. saucy smith Says:

    MarieBelle is the bomb. I love that place. I have made certain to often include chocolates from there as an end of night treat at a dinner party. Guests go crazy over the chocolate AND the packaging. Thank you for including them on your website. And by the way, I love your blog and your writing and your concept.
    Cheers
    SAUCY

    • butteryblog Says:

      Thanks Saucy! I agree. I can’t get enough of the brown and blue MarieBelle packaging. One year I gave all my co-workers MarieBelle chocolates. It was so much fun going to their Chocolaterie in Soho and picking everything out! Looking forward to following you on lobstersandwich!

      -Buttery B

  4. butteryblog Says:

    Mariebelle is the best! I served it at a dessert party one year with Chambord (because I can’t do anything without alcohol, apparently). It was mighty tasty. And those chocolates are super adorable.

    Homemade whipped cream is the best.
    ms. b

  5. DC Says:

    I’m a little late with this post, but I am now obsessed with finding Mariebelle Hot Chocolate on the West Coast! By chance have you had the dark obsession tea by Mariebelle? I am looking for a good dessert tea. Love your blog!

  6. DC Says:

    I have never heard of this company or the tea; thank you so much for the link! Once Upon A Tea sounds delicious!


Leave a Reply

