The Buttery Blog

Everything's better with butter.

Slow and Steady September 13, 2009

Filed under: health/diet — butteryblog @ 9:32 pm
Tags:

Every year for my birthday, I usually spend at least a month or two brainstorming the perfect thing to do, place to go, outfit to wear. In NYC, the possibilities are endless, which I think tends to lend a hand in my obsessive planning. One year it was volunteering to walk shelter dogs, another spent chowing down on BBQ at Virgil’s, and another having cocktails at the Algonquin Hotel.

This year it was running my first 5K for the Race for the Cure.

Serenaded on my run

Serenaded on my run

I am not a runner. In fact, about a year ago, you’d find me saying “The thought of running gives me a headache,” or “Running makes my teeth hurt.” These were both true. But, then one day, out of the blue, I just started running. And, well, here we are–this momentous day. I ran 3.1 miles (without stopping) in Central Park. And, wow, did I ever deserve a good brunch with a strong mimosa after that!

Home. Shower. Off to Robin Des Bois in Brooklyn to meet two of my favorite people for a celebration brunch. It was a perfect day to sit in the quirky backyard garden, complete with old subway signs, grapevines growing real grapes, the sun scattered through the trees, and rustic iron furniture. We had a lovely British waiter named Rob (if you go there, by the way, request him–he rocked!).

Scattered Sun

Scattered Sun

On the menu:
Oeufs au gratin with ham and gruyere (with salad and amazing amazing toasted bread)
Mimosa, of course
Once upon a tea (vanilla chocolate rooibos tea)
Warm chocolate cake

Maybe just a little too close

Maybe just a little too close to the ouefs

Delicious. The eggs were a bit overcooked, but I think my exhaustion from the run combined with the mimosa, prevented me from really caring. My friend said the tea smelled like play-doh, but I liked it.

It was nice being able to truly enjoy a lazy Sunday afternoon with friends. After doing something so physical, my body felt like it couldn’t do much more. Exert your body, and then reap the rewards of relaxation…and food, of course!

What is your favorite birthday memory?

♦ Buttery B

 

5 Responses to “Slow and Steady”

  1. Lady B Says:

    Good for you, Buttery B! Yes, you deserved a lovely brunch after your run. Ibuprofen will be your friend tonight. I’m running my first 5K next month. My only goal is to not finish last!

  2. Hooray for you!! Happy Birthday!

  3. Mother Butter Says:

    Happy birthday!!!! It sounds like you had one great day 🙂

  4. peabody Says:

    You did deserve a treat after that! Happy Birthday!

    And a big special thanks as a daughter of a breast cancer survivor for participating in the race.


Leave a Reply

