The Buttery Blog

Everything's better with butter.

Real Simple July 20, 2009

Filed under: Breakfast/Brunch,Fruit & Veg — butteryblog @ 5:32 pm
Tags: ,
cream wheat

Creamy. Wheaty.

To me, people fall into two categories: those who prefer oatmeal and those who prefer Cream of Wheat. I am firmly planted in the latter camp. I can’t get over the sludgy texture of oatmeal. Plus I grew up eating Cream of Wheat. With butter and sugar, it makes a most satisfying breakfast. Of course, sometimes you want to pretty things up a bit. A few weeks ago I had some wilting strawberries in the fridge — too old to eat as they were, but not old enough to toss. I threw them on the stove with a tablespoon of sugar and a splash of Cointreau. They simmered while I cooked the Cream of Wheat and everything was done at the same time. What a lovely, comforting start to a Saturday it was!

As we’ve said on this blog before, sometimes simplest is bestest. But simple doesn’t have to mean boring. The next time your fruit is starting to brown, don’t throw it out–turn it into a compote and put it on pancakes, Cream of Wheat, French toast, or, yes, even oatmeal.

A few suggestions to help you along:
apriocts + molasses + bourbon

bananas + brown sugar + macadamia nuts

blueberries + lemonade

raspberries + orange juice

apples + ginger + cinnamon

GRADE: A+

♥Lady Butterbuns

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Real Simple”

  1. butteryblog Says:

    I’ve never been an oatmeal fan, but Cream of Wheat intrigues me. I like the idea of your apples/ginger/cinnamon concoction. And I always buy more fruit than I can eat from the farmers’ market. What a good way to use it up!
    ms. butterpants

  2. Buttery B Says:

    I’m an oatmeal girl myself–though I didn’t actually start eating it until I moved to NYC…and it’s taken some time for me to really like it. Just like figs, I’ve never tried Cream of Wheat (another food item to put on the list!).

    I’m glad you wrote about the old fruit because I had some blueberries on their last legs I didn’t know what to do with so I froze them until I could figure something out!

  3. Mother Butter Says:

    Juice on breakfast cereal? Interesting!

  4. butteryblog Says:

    Wow, two who have never had CoW? You may not like it–I think nostalgia plays a big part in the “comfort food” aspect of it, but it’s very filling and makes me happy, happy.

    MB, have you had CoW? Do you like it? It’s not for everyone.

    -Lady B


Leave a Reply

