The Buttery Blog

Everything's better with butter.

Beef Burgundy June 17, 2009

Filed under: Crock Pot/Slow Cooker/One Pot,Meat,pasta — butteryblog @ 4:25 am
Tags: ,
Beef Burgundy

Beef Burgundy

Yup, I dragged out the crock pot again. This time I made beef burgundy (boeuf bourguignon for the snobs). This is the best thing I’ve made in the crock pot so far, but considering I gave Jimmy Fallon’s chili a B-, that’s ain’t exactly praise. Honestly, I feel like I need to double all the spice recommendations in crock pot recipes to get any flavor out of them at all.

Anyway, this recipe comes from Cooking Light’s Slow Cooker recipe book.

  • 10 oz pearl onions (Unbelievably, Vons did not have any pearl onions, so I omitted this)
  • 2 pounds top round steak, trimmed and cut into 1 1/2-inch cubes
  • 2 1/2 cups sliced onion (1 large)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • cooking spray
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1 1/3 cups beef broth
  • 1/2 cup Burgundy or other dry red wine
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste (stupidly, I forgot to buy this so I threw in some tomato sauce–not the same thing!)
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme (I didn’t have this so I used herbs de provence, which includes thyme)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (I used WAY more than this. WAY WAY more)
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper (yup, used WAY more of this too)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 8 oz button mushrooms, sliced
  • 3 cups cups hot, cooked egg noodles

1. Drop pearl onions in boiling water, cook 1 minutes. Drain onions, peel.

2. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add steak; saute 5 minutes or until browned. Place steak in a 3-quart electric slow cooker (I have a 6-quart, which was fine–no burning). Add sliced onion and garlic to pan; coat with cooking spray, and saute over medium-high heat 5 minutes or until tender. Lightly spoon flour into a dry measuring cup; level with a knife. Sprinkle flour over onion-garlic mixture; cook 1 minute, stirring constantly. Gradually add broth, wine and tomato paste, stirring constantly. Cook 1 minute or until thick. Add pearl onions, dried thyme, salt, pepper, bay leaf and mushrooms.

3. Pour wine mixture over steak in cooker. Cover and cook on LOW 6-7 hours (I cooked it for 6). Discard bay leaf. Serve over noodles. Garnish with thyme leaves, if desired. I topped it with sour cream, which added a nice cool note.

GRADE: B

♥Lady Butterbuns

 

5 Responses to “Beef Burgundy”

  1. Mr. St. Butter Says:

    Yum. This is one of my favorite dishes of all time, especially the way Mrs. St. Butter makes it. I think you are right that this recipe needs more flavor. I would put WAY more wine in next time, and a bit more garlic. The recipe we use also has some thick sliced bacon in it (I think around 8 or so strips that you cut up into small pieces) and finely minced carrots, both of which add lots of flavor. And you have got to have pearl onions (fresh, not frozen). The large onion that you chop is really to become part of the canvas of the sauce (along with the tomato paste, wine, garlic, minced carrots, etc.), while the pearl onions, like the beef and mushrooms, are the things in the sauce that you enjoy the experience of chewing and savoring. I recommend keeping both the pearl onions and the button mushrooms whole, and browning them in a pan first (either in olive oil or better yet in the fat from the bacon you just fried). This extra step does wonders for their flavor, color and texture. A lot of French cooking seems to be about doing things in multiple stages or layers to add complexity of flavor and texture, which is kind of at odds with the whole crock pot philosophy. But if you take a little extra time on the front end, you can then rest easy that the crock pot will pull it all together with great success. Make sure your wine is a good one–best if it’s the same exact wine you are going to drink with the meal, and you may want to put a small amount of cognac or brandy in there, too.

  2. Mother Butter Says:

    Can’t wait to try this!!!! I love fancy pants French stuff done in the crock pot. Take that Anthony Bordain!

  3. Lady B Says:

    Mr. St. Butter, you have such good advice. I did add lots more garlic and wine, but carrots and bacon are good additions as well. Invite me over for dinner some time, huh?

    Mother B, I love Tony Bourdain, but he’s such a snob about what he eats. I will always be thankful to him, however, for exposing me to the wonder that is a banh mi sandwich.

  4. Buttery B Says:

    Does anyone think it’s possible, or, um, safe, to have a crockpot in NYC? I want one, but isn’t the whole point to just let it do it’s cooking while you go off to do errands? I’m afraid of leaving it alone in an old apartment building!

  5. Lady B Says:

    At first the thought of leaving it on while you away is worrisome (visions of a rented house engulfed in flames, our dog turned to a pile of ash–all that for stew?), but it’s safe. Even on high, I don’t think the heat is that tremendous. I’m sure you can read about crock-pot safety online if you’re worried.


Leave a Reply

