The Buttery Blog

Everything's better with butter.

Loquat Chutney May 22, 2009

Filed under: Fruit & Veg — butteryblog @ 8:37 pm
Tags: ,

Loquat Chutney

I have a loquat tree in my backyard. If you are anything like me, you have no idea what a loquat is or what one could do with a tree full of them. Well, Wikipedia is more than happy to tell you for free. They’re a bit too tart to eat straight off of the branch (my dog disagrees; he will do all manner of tricks for a loquat), so I looked for a recipe and found a relatively simple one for loquat chutney. Having never made chutney before, I was intrigued. As it turns out, chutney is easy to make and pretty darned tasty–a pleasing combination of sweet and spicy. It goes on everything from grilled pork to cheese and crackers.

 

 The following recipe has been altered slightly from the original, which I found Recipezaar. I apologize in advance for the metrics, but my digital scale conveniently converted everything for me. This marks the first time in two years that I have used my digital scale.

 

Prep time: 1 hr/Total time: 2 1/2 hours

Makes 2.5 liters

 

650 g pitted loquats

4 large apples

300 g dried apricots

300 g ginger

1 tbsp mustard seed

450 g sugar

700 ml cider vinegar

2 tsp salt

2 tsp crushed red chili flakes

 

 Trim the stem and flower end of the loquats. Remove the stones and any membrane between the stones. The loquats brown a little on the cut edges but regain their colour when cooked. Loquats do not need to be peeled.

 

Peel and cube the apples. Cut the apricots into strips. Peel and cut the ginger into julienne strips.

 

Crush some of the mustard seeds to release the flavour but leave the majority whole.

 

Put all the ingredients into a large pan and bring to the boil. Simmer for about an hour and a half until the apple is cooked to a pulp. Stir occasionally so that it doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pan.

 

At this point you can jar them if you’re into such things or just put it into a Tupperware and stick it in the fridge, which is more my speed.

 

GRADE: B

 

♥Lady Butterbuns

 

One Response to “Loquat Chutney”

  1. Listy-loo Says:

    I am googling loquat right now.


Leave a Reply

