The Buttery Blog

Everything's better with butter.

Medicinal Purposes April 13, 2010

Filed under: drinks,health/diet — butteryblog @ 12:14 am

This past weekend I caught the tail end of whatever the Butter Boys had. It usually goes down like that, after they are on the mend I come down with said sickness. This time however I was in bad shape. I hadn’t slept very well in a few days. Since I am one for a home-made remedy, I thought about the perfect concoction the hot toddy! The steam from the drink opens your sinuses, the brandy knocks you out, the lemon soothes your throat, the honey helps your cough. I have to say it was by no means a cure-all but I was finally able to go to sleep. Sometimes when you are sick, there is nothing better than a good night’s sleep!

Hot Toddy

ingredients

6 oz cup hot water (or tea- I used tea and it tasted pretty good!)

1 1/2 tsp honey

juice of 1/2 lemon

2 oz brandy (or bourbon or rum)

1 cinnamon stick

Directions

1) Into a cup measure out honey, lemon juice and brandy

2) Add hot tea or hot water to cup

3) Stir with cinnamon stick and sip slowly

 

One Response to “Medicinal Purposes”

  1. Very nice as well as medicinal, and port works just as nicely for people who don’t care for brandy.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.