The Buttery Blog

Everything's better with butter.

A Busy Busy Buttery B March 31, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — butteryblog @ 7:34 am

I’ve been busy ya’ll. (I think maybe if I start speaking with a southern accent, it will help me slow down!)

I can’t complain really–my time has been filled with a lot of laughter and fierce determination towards my goals. But I recently lamented to my Buttery sisters that I haven’t cooked a real meal in over a month (maybe two).

This past Fall I took a class at Capes Coaching here in NYC, focusing on life goals. One of the aspects I loved most about it was the emphasis on life-work balance. Attaining your goals won’t be nearly as fulfilling if you don’t have the rest of the pieces of your life in place. So every week I check in with myself and ask how I’m doing in these key areas:

  • Family
  • Friends
  • Spiritual/Personal Growth
  • Home
  • Health/Self-Care
  • Romance
  • Contribution

I ask myself questions for each area. For “Home,” one of the questions I ask is “Have I cooked a meal in my home at least once this week?” Well, you can probably guess the answer. 

“Cooking and eating at home are central to the well-being of an apartment. Using your apartment for daily nourishment connects you to your food and your kitchen…and spreads one of the best smells there is throughout your home.” –Apartment Therapy

I finally decided that no matter how busy I was, it was high-time I give myself and my home some tender loving care. This is not a fancy meal and certainly nothing to write home about. But for the little time I did have, I focused solely on cooking, not letting all the swirling of thoughts and to-do lists take over. I allowed myself to enjoy every minute. Is there one area in your life that needs an extra 30 minutes of tender loving care?

Grilled Salmon and Quinoa with Onions and Red Peppers

  • Prepare Quinoa according to the package (by the way, if anyone has a good trick to cleaning quinoa, please pass it along!)
  • Saute 1/2 onion and one red pepper in about 1-2 tbsp of olive oil, until they soften (about 5-7 minutes).
  • Add the onion/red pepper mixture to the prepared quinoa. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  • For a time-saving measure, I purchased my salmon pre-grilled and then warmed in the oven (hey, I did say I was busy, right?!)

♦ Buttery B

 

2 Responses to “A Busy Busy Buttery B”

  1. Mother Butter Says:

    Healthy and easy? Impressive and well done!

  2. MXF Says:

    Do you like quinoa? I’ve had it a few times and find it more fun to pronounce than eat. But maybe I’m just waiting for the right preparation.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.