The Buttery Blog

Everything's better with butter.

Four-Way Lemonade June 11, 2009

Filed under: drinks — butteryblog @ 4:57 am
Tags: ,

I have a lemon tree in my backyard. Right now it is bursting with fruit. I gave bagfuls to my friends D&M. D loves to makes drinks in the blender and one day he showed me how he made lemonade. Taking his basic recipe, I came up with four variations.

First, though, I’d like to show you the kinds of lemons that grow on my tree:

The real meaning of "organic."

The real meaning of "organic."

Not exactly the perfectly oval things you see at Vons, right? But they’re really fragrant and delicious.

Here’s the basic recipe:

  • 3 lemons, no rinds
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 quart water

Throw the lemons and sugar into the blender with about a cup of water and blend it up! You can remove the seeds prior to blending if you want, but since it gets strained, I find it unnecessary.

Once you find your perfect tart/sweet balance by adding/subtracting lemons/sugar, strain the concoction into a pitcher. Add the remaing water.

Wow, that was easy.

Now for the fun stuff:

Peach Lavender Lemonade

Peach Lavender Lemonade

Peach Lavender Lemonade

In addition to the basic recipe, add a few sprigs of lavender and two peaches (peeled) into the blender.

I liked, but didn’t love this version. The peaches were a bit tart for my taste, but I’m sure if I had riper, juicer ones, my complaint would be alleviated.

GRADE: B


Apple Ginger Lemonade

Appley. Gingery.

Appley. Gingery.

In addition to the basic recipe, add one apple and two inches of peeled ginger root to the blender (if, like me, you freeze your ginger, microwave it for 30 seconds before blending).

I loved this version.  The ginger gave it such a nice bite.

GRADE: A


Blackberry Basil Lemonade

Best drink. Ever.

Best drink. Ever.

In addition to the basic recipe, add a handful of blackberries and four leaves of basil to the blender.

This is the best thing I have ever made. EVER. It was the perect balance of sweet and tangy with a subtle herbal undertone. I should bottle this one!
GRADE: A+


Chamomile Lemonade

Ahh...

Ahh...

In addition to the basic recipe, brew one mug of chamomile tea. Add the tea to the strained lemon mixture and water. Make sure the tea is cool or else, you know, you’ll have hot lemonade.

I used Tazo Calm tea in my version. It has a subtle mint flavor that I found very pleasing.
GRADE: B+


Enjoy the summer!

♥Lady Butterbuns

 

8 Responses to “Four-Way Lemonade”

  1. Mother Butter Says:

    That is one scary lemon. Is it an Ugly lemon, you know like those Ugly tomatoes? These recipes make me want to get a blender. And a lemon tree. And a back yard.

  2. butteryblog Says:

    You don’t own a blender? I find that surprising, although I really only use my for smoothies and the occasional soup.

    The ugly tomatoes terrify me. I can’t bring myself to buy one.

    -Lady B

  3. Mother Butter Says:

    My MIL swears by Ugly tomatoes. They are the only ones she will buy now.

    I don’t own a blender b/c I have both a food processor and a stick blender. I hate pouring hot soup into something when I can get out my handy dandy immersion blender and puree it up right in the pot!

    -Mother Butter

  4. Adrienne Says:

    What the heck is wrong with that lemon?

  5. Buttery B Says:

    I am so in love with your photos. AND I am definitely putting the blackberry basil lemonade on my list, especially considering I have a basil plant growing out of control! Yum.

  6. butteryblog Says:

    Buttery B, you get at least half the credit for suggesting the blackberries in the first place–perfect choice.

    -Lady B

  7. D Says:

    question about the blackberry basil recipe-did you use fresh or frozen blackberries and which would you recommend?

  8. butteryblog Says:

    If they’re in season, fresh will taste best, but frozen ought to do in a pinch. I would thaw them prior to blending or else the lemonade will be thick.

    -Lady B.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.